Finding cheap Minnesota car insurance is easy! Just enter your Zip Code on top of this page and you can get car insurance quotes in MN instantly. Laws related to auto insurance will vary from state to state. Minnesota requires that all drivers have a policy that meets or exceeds the minimum requirements under state law. Minnesota is a no-fault state, which means that a driver who has suffered damages as a result of an accident will be compensated by his own insurance company, regardless of who is at fault. This speeds up the claim process and helps reduce insurance fraud.
Minnesota car insurance requires that you carry a policy that provides at least $30,000 per person in bodily injury coverage, $60,000 per accident for bodily injury to one or more persons and $10,000 of coverage for property damage. In Minnesota personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured/under insured motorist coverage is mandatory. PIP coverage pays for damages such as medical bills and lost wages should you have an accident, regardless of who is at fault. Drivers must have PIP coverage that provides at least: $40,000 per person and per accident of total coverage, $20,000 for medical bills and $20,000 for other damages like lost wages.
Under insured and uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your medical expenses if you’re involved in an accident in which the other party is at fault, but doesn’t have enough insurance to pay for your medical expenses or has no insurance at all. As Minnesota is a no-fault state, this coverage will only come into play when your personal injury protection benefits have been exhausted. Currently, the minimums for uninsured and under insured motorist coverage are $25,000 for injuries to one person and $50,000 for injuries to two or more people.Auto insurance in MN must provide rental car coverage under state law.
The minimum is $35,000 of rental car coverage. Car rental agencies are required by law to inform clients that purchasing additional insurance coverage is not necessary if they have a car insurance policy issued in Minnesota.Drivers are required to carry proof of insurance at all times when driving in Minnesota. Not having auto insurance is a misdemeanor and exposes the driver to fines of up to $1000, plus possible suspension of driving privileges. It may be possible to avoid the suspension by acquiring auto insurance before the court hearing date. Finding cheap car insurance in MN is possible, but you should know which factors will affect your insurance premiums. Those who have a poor driving record with numerous moving violations, accident claims or who were found guilty of criminal acts involving a vehicle (DUI, fleeing from a traffic stop, etc.) will pay much higher rates.
If you have an occupation that involves a lot of driving or long commutes and therefore use your vehicle a lot, you will also pay more for your insurance. Finally, those with a poor credit record can expect higher rates as well. To get the cheapest possible rates for Minnesota car insurance, keep your driving and credit records as clean as possible.The best way to get Minnesota auto insurance quotes and compare rates from different companies is to look them up online. This will let you see what many auto insurers in the state have to offer and do a side by side comparison of their premiums and the amounts of coverage provided. All you need to do is to fill out a simple form with information about yourself, the type of car you drive and the number of miles you drive in a typical year.